About SCR

Through a deep love of noodle bowls and records, we decided that there was too much great music going unnoticed, both new and old. With roots firmly planted in New Orleans, and an interest in celebrating good music everywhere, we decided to do something about it. Voila a label is born. Sinking City Records is our attempt to showcase music that moves us in hopes that it moves you too.

Street Music is the second full-length album and first vinyl release for New Orleans legendary STOOGES BRASS BAND. It showcases the band at a creative peak, performing some of the best known tunes from live shows, including the powerful tribute to trombonist “Shotgun Joe” Williams called Why They Had To Kill Him and their version of the O’Jays’ classic Family Reunion entitled appropriately, Stooges Reunion.

The audio of Street Music is bright and vibrant like the front row of a live show while capturing the depth and interplay between musicians and their instruments that is only possible in a studio session. The six tracks clock in at the perfect LP length of just under 18 minutes a side and were mastered for this release by J.Yuenger (White Zombie and numerous studio credits) and lacquers cut by the experts at Prairie Cat Mastering to create that same high standard of quality as heard on Sinking City Records 001 – RICKY B – B Is For Bounce.

The STOOGES BRASS BAND are in top form, playing worldwide in the last year including the UK, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Kyrgyzstan! They sold out Brooklyn Bowl in January and have played on stages from coast to coast, including Bonnaroo, High Sierra, Utah Jazz Festival, New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, Blue Note Jazz Festival, Essence Fest, Lincoln Center, and JFK Center. The urban brass band sound played by the Stooges follows in a direct line from Congo Square in New Orleans’ 6th Ward (Treme) incorporating funk, modern jazz, and hip hop. This is literally street music, and the Stooges stay grounded in those streets, playing second lines on many a Sunday afternoon throughout the year. In 2010 they won the first Red Bull Street Kingz competition and followed it up with a recording date with the legendary producer Mannie Fresh at Red Bull Studios. In 2012 they were named the “Best Contemporary Brass Band” at the Big Easy Awards.

Side A

  • Why They Had To Kill Him
  • Stooges Reunion
  • Can You Hear Me Now

Side B

  • Oh No
  • I Need You
  • I Gotta Eat

Street Music will be officially released at a show at the legendary Tipitina’s in New Orleans, on July 26th.

Sinking City Records is a vinyl-centric label created by Brice White (aka Brice Nice) and Scott Borne. The label was formed out of a love for the diverse talent across New Orleans. Sinking City showcases raw and exciting new artists across the musical spectrum as well as reissues lost treasures. Urban Unrest is a subsidiary label of Sinking City that features the true sounds of New Orleans streets – hip-hop, bounce, and brass band music.

Stooges Brass Band are available for interviews and shows www.stoogesmusicgroup.com

comments powered by Disqus